Something I bought at London Rough Trade last August

February 21, 2010 § Leave a comment


My purchase of James Yorkston‘s most recent album “Folk Songs” was a very slightly pretentious affair.

It was one of those buys where I hadn’t listened much to the music before, merely seen the name on some NME gig listings, and in this case, I was enticed by the sketched goat that stood on the album cover.

However, it was one of those buys that despite my initial ignorance, turned out to be a pleasing success.

But that’s just my opinion.

Here’s one!

This being watched however, the actual 2009 album I bought of his ‘folk songs’ is predictably much more ‘folkey’. It sounds much more like a non-precosious singer strumming out his stories in a pub  than, well, if you were being cynically over-critical, Kimya Dawson with a large thesaurus.

Personally though, I think it’s all good.

Here’s a folk song specimen, really soothing. He’s a good friend of Andrew Bird.

To give the title slightly more relevance, Rough Trade are one of many shops now selling Four Tet‘s new single – “Sing”.

woop! glitchy…

thankyou,

George

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Something I bought at London Rough Trade last August at A Pocket Full Of Seeds.

meta

