Work till Play

May 18, 2010 § 1 Comment


Ólafur Arnolds – Þú ert sólin

So after an entirely ridiculous few days of gallivanting around I now have the fairly grizzly issue of reading books and writing words so that I can come back to university next year. It’s only when I actually have some self-motivated work to do that I realise how pathetically lazy I am. Bad for exam results, not bad for music.

Through expert procrastination I suck in music relentlessly, telling myself that it’s for the blog which is a constructive thing to invest time in and which will one day pay all the bills that my hard earned 2:1 will inevitably shy away from in how ever many years. Ólafur Arnolds is one such find, the name rang a bell from an old friend’s wise words and when he was mentioned again by a new friend of equal wisdom I started sniffing. This kind of music has such powerful dynamics and emotions but, beautifully, for all it’s energy I struggle to move or even think.

The new album is out and is making people say big things so get involved

.

.

.

Gobble Gobble – Wrinklecarver

OK so while i didn’t exactly finish my essay I did reach the word limit so now I can really drive myself to glorious distraction. Gobble Gobble came to me a while back with some songs so I was already a fan before I even pressed play. The combination of Passion Pit melodies and wriggly MGMT-esque production on Wrinklecarver are very persuasive. This is the kind of music that iPods use to create an army of rebelliously smiley youngsters who have r

ealised that working isn’t a lot of fun and the long term is for later. Kind of dangerous, stay in school kids.

very silly myspace

.

.

thanks

Marcus

.

(george is getting back from some country tomorrow so normal service will soon be resumed)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Work till Play

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Work till Play at A Pocket Full Of Seeds.

meta

