inthistogether

October 20, 2010 § 2 Comments


Before 4564 seconds ago, The Shins were nothing to me but a shabby looking mess tipexed on to a rewritable CD. I had never listened to a single song under their name. Never. They have almost 54000000 plays on last.fm. New Slang tops their chart by some margin. It seems this song and band have made a huge splash in the hearts and minds of a multitude of people, and yet I was unaware. I listened to this song for the first time still blind to its massive acknowledgement, it touched my bones, it touched me just like it caressed millions of others. It’s only then that I feel a glad and pleasant affection creeping around my body; I like to like the human race.

I like the fact music is a language we can all speak when the words get weary and wooly. My favourite song in the whole entire world could well be Empire State of Mind by Jay-Z;  purely because of that glowing, throbbing sensation that holds up my head and forms a smile upon it, beaming out at human life/soul, singing together with a multitude of ears and mouths… It’s a marvellous picture in my mind.

 The Shins – New Slang


§ 2 Responses to inthistogether

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading inthistogether at A Pocket Full Of Seeds.

meta

