A to B

January 9, 2011 § Leave a comment



White Lies – Nothing To Give (M83 Remix)

Being at university, it’s really easy to get into this sort of bubble. You suddenly have so much time. This seemingly infinite moment in your existence where you can be who you want, do what you want and it comes with this feeling of complete fearless-ness. There is the point though (which if like me, you reached successfully by Christmas) where the loan is drained, the overdraft is being hungrily nibbled at and you’re now living off tea and cigarettes for the foreseeable future. It’s at this point we have to shamefully dip into the bank of mutti and vati, bursting the bubble until the next instalment of funds. I didn’t feel homesick at this point, but I started thinking about strange things at home I missed. One of them actually turned out to be the bus home. I missed that 30 minutes, where I was neither at point A or B. When I could plug my headphones in, look out of the window and just simply think.

I stumbled across a remix of White Lies which jolted this strange memoir of home. Their music always give me this weird feeling of elevation, with vocals that pull on your heartstrings and subtle injections of, in this instance, violin which evoke a whole other dimension to their songs. M83 are along the same lines, and they’ve done this song so much justice. Throwing over it a cosmic wash, with mind-melting synths and a swelling bass which when collided, turn into something somewhat otherworldly.

It definitely made me miss those self-indulgent 30 minutes, and I’d of loved to be watching the world (well, Kesgrave) simply pass me by.
Milly

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A to B at A Pocket Full Of Seeds.

meta

